Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
U.S. Consulate General Alexandria
The U.S. Consulate General Alexandria

The U.S. Consulate General Alexandria

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton presided over a ceremony to re-open the U.S. Consulate General Alexandria on July 15, 2012. The new Alexandria Consulate General district covers 23 million Egyptians in eight governorates stretching along the Mediterranean coast from the Libyan border to Port Said and down intothe Nile Delta. The Consulate General provides consular services for resident American citizens, commercial and political partnership opportunities, development assistance through USAID, cultural andeducational programming, and military coordination within the followingeight governorates in Egypt's North Coastand Delta region:

  • Alexandria (capital city: Alexandria)
  • Beheira (capital city: Damanhour)
  • Matrouh (capital city: MarsaMatrouh)
  • Kafr El Sheikh (capital city: Kafr ElSheikh)
  • Dakahlia (capital city: Mansoura)
  • Damietta (capital city: Damietta)
  • Gharbia (capital city: Tanta)
  • Port Said (capital city: Port Said)

Learn more about the new Consulate General by reading the Fact Sheet.  Find the Consulate website at or join the Consulate’s Facebook page at